Vehicle of the Future

EV enthusiast and activist

136 MPGe ‘Tank’ to Wheel Economy

leave a comment »

My car is getting approximately 4.1 miles per kWh as reported by my Leaf. On Tier 1 with PG&E I’m paying $0.12/kWh.

(4.1 mi/kWh) / ($0.12/kWh) = 34.167 mi/$

I’m getting 34 miles per dollar with my Leaf. Compare that to 7.5 mi/$ with my Civic. Now,

(34.167 mi/$) * ($3.999/gal) = 136.63 MPGe

The Leaf gets 136 MPGe, that’s miles per gallon equivalent.

This is based on ‘tank’ to wheel economy.

Written by devinserpa

June 12, 2011 at 1:03 am

Leave a Reply

